The Prize for Bad Sex Goes To… In Literature, That Is

Every year, Britain’s Literary Review magazine awards the Bad Sex in Fiction Literary Prize. It was Auberon Waugh who established the prize in 1993. The 18th edition and this year’s award goes to Author Rowan Somerville for his second book, The Shape of Her.

The award is given away every year with a view “to draw attention to the crude, tasteless, often perfunctory use of redundant passages of sexual description in the modern novel.” It excludes openly erotic and pornographic material.

Earlier winners of the prize include Alastair Campbell, Tom Wolfe, Norman Mailer, A.A. Gill, Melvyn Bragg and Jonathan Littell. Other finalists for this year’s prize A Life Apart by Neel Mukherjee, Freedom by Jonathan Franzen, The Golden Mean by Annabel Lyon, Maya by Alastair Campbell, Peanut by Adam Ross and The Slap by Christos Tsiolka.

VN:F [1.9.20_1166]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)

enjoyed this post? share with others:

twitter stumble upon digg

This entry was posted on Thursday, December 2nd, 2010 at 8:51 pm and is filed under Awards, Fiction, News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed.

leave a comment